Annual Meeting & Awards Banquet

Nominate Your Peers | 2018 Award Winners | Event Fees | Awards Task Force

Join ESSAE members, colleagues, and friends on Thursday, February 6, 2020 for our annual gala to celebrate the best of the best in the association community, celebrate the achievements of ESSAE in advancing and protecting the work of associations and association professionals across New York State, and the individuals who help make the association industry in New York a success.  

This special event provides us with the opportunity to showcase and acknowledge the great work accomplished by our industry colleagues, thank our 2019 volunteer leadership, welcome the 2020 Board of Directors, highlight the Society's accomplishments, and hear more about future initiatives. 

Thursday, February 6, 2020
Cocktail Reception - 5:30 PM to 6:30 PM
Dinner, Board Installation & Awards Ceremony - 6:30 to 8:30 PM
Complete event details and registration coming soon! 

Nominate Your Peers! 

Has your association elevated to the next level in 2018?
Did your team pull off a spectacular event on a tight budget?
Are you the next great association executive? 

ESSAE knows our members invest a great deal of time, effort and talent into the programs and services they provide to their members. Now that fall is here, consider what innovative & creative accomplishments you or your association have achieved (or will achieve) in 2019. From advocacy efforts, to marketing & engagement, to technology advancements, to meetings & events, all the things in between - we want to highlight the amazing things our members accomplish. Award winners will be honored during the February 6, 2020 Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet! 

Complete details are provided within the Awards Packet.

Nominations should be submitted online. A separate submission is required for each nominee.
Need help? Check out our nomination sample document for inspiration!

To nominate an Individual Award - click here

To nominate for an Association Excellence Award - click here.

Nominations will be accepted on a continuing basis, but should be received no later than Friday, December 13, 2019. Completed forms will be shared with and reviewed by the Awards Committee. 

Let's celebrate your association's achievements!

Past award their own words

Deborah A. Goedeke 
Convention Services Manager | Albany Film Commissioner
Discover Albany
Associate (Supplier) Member of the Year - 2017

To be an award recipient for Supplier of the Year, and be nominated by so many of my association peers, was extremely special to me.  If you read the Award Description it recognizes outstanding professionalism and exemplary service to our industry. 

Knowing our peers saw those traits in what we do every day, made me stand a little taller and work a little harder for everyone.  No industry can thrive without a strong support base of responsive, quality suppliers and I believe all ESSAE suppliers are just that.

As a member of this year’s Awards Task Force, I hope you will consider nominating an individual you interact with for Supplier of the Year that has displayed those traits when working with you, it truly will make a difference in their life!

Event Fees 

Event registration includes: fully hosted cocktail reception hour, plated dinner, wine service, dessert, champagne toast, awards ceremony, board installation, and coat check. Full cash bar available during dinner. 

Cancellation Policy
Registrations must be made and paid for by Friday, January 31, 2020. Registration cancellations received prior to the deadline may be eligible to receive a refund less $25 service fee.  Cancellations received after the stated deadline will not be eligible for a refund. Refunds will not be available for registrants who choose not to attend an event (no-shows). Cancellations will be accepted in writing only and must be received by the stated cancellation deadline. All refund requests must be made by the attendee or credit card holder. Refunds will be credited back to the original credit card used for payment. If you are unable to attend, you may send an alternate to the event without additional charge.

Questions? Call 518-463-1755 or [email protected]

Congratulations 2018 Award Recipients!

George Burton Award
Kathy Leitgeb
Executive Director 
NYS Bowling Proprietors Association 

Distinguished Member of the Year
Robert Schneider, CPA, CAE
Associate Executive Director & COO
NYS School Boards Association

Associate Member of the Year
Linda Persico, CMP (retired)
Sales Manager
Conference & Event Center Niagara Falls

Rising Star
Meagan Bowker
Association Manager 
Capitol Hill Management Services, Inc.

Association Excellence Awards:
Government Relations: New York School Nutrition Association

Marketing & Public Relations: New York State Optometric Association

Meetings & Expositions: New York Aviation Management Association

Industry Innovation: New York Battery & Energy Storage Technology Consortium

Professional Development/Education: American Institute of Architects New York State 

Publication/Magazine: New York State Association of Counties

Your 2019 Awards Task Force

Chair: Aurelia Lazzari, Sales Manager, Desmond Hotel Albany
Vice-Chair: Kim Hodge, National Sales Manager, Sagamore Resort
Jennifer Bruce, CMP, President | Consultant, CCi Consulting
Amber Carpenter, Managing Director, NYSAPLS, Inc.
Debby Goedeke, Convention Services Manager | Albany Film Commissioner, Discover Albany
Darryl Leggieri, President, Discover Saratoga
Shannon Licygiewicz, CEM, Director of Sales, Albany Capital Center
Linda Persico, CMP (retired)
Jack Roddy, Director of Sales, Desmond Hotel Albany
Patricia Wood, Association, Marketing, Management Consultant